Thursday, May 27, 2010

OKalaKatiget Society Board Nominations

The OKalaKatiget Society welcomes three members to its board.

The nominations closed at 12 noon Tuesday.

Nominations included two for Nain, and one each for Postville and Makkovik.

Leah Ikkusek is the Executive Director for the Society.

She says Joe Dicker of Nain is the new board member, while Lucy Ikkusek was re-elected.

Brenda Colbourne of Postville was also re-elected.

Ikkusek says there were two candidates nominated for the town of Makkovik.

Carol Gear and Katie Haye received those nominations.

An election will take place on Monday, May 31st, 2010.

The voting will be at the community’s local radio station.

All Nunatsiavut Beneficiaries are eligible to vote.

Board Nominations are still open for North West River.

The deadline to nominate a resident is 12 noon tomorrow.

No comments:

Post a Comment