Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Nominations open today for AngajukKaks

Nominations open today for AngajukKâk’s of the Inuit Community Governments and the Chairs of the Inuit Community Corporations.

In order to be qualified as a candidate in the election, a nominee must be a beneficiary 19-years or older.

The nominee must be resident of the community for at least 60 days before the election.

And they must not have any debt with the Inuit Community Government.

The only community not holding nominations is Rigolet.

Jack Shiwak is the Chief Electoral Officer for the Nunatsiavut Government.

He says Charlotte Wolfrey was elected as AngajukKâk for the Rigolet Inuit Community Government in March.

She filled the position that was left vacant when Danny Michelin resigned.

If an AngajukKâk is elected within a year of regular elections, they finish that term and then serve a regular term.

AngajukKâk’s and Community Chairs serve a four-year term.

Nominations close on August 23.

Elections are set for September 14.

1 comment:

  1. why cant council members be paid as well then something might get done. as of now theres no opposition of any kind in our gov.we need to have more comunity input.