Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Winners of Elections Determined

The new AngajukKaks and Community Corporation Chairs have been determined following the election yesterday.

The votes were cast in the second election since the ratification of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement.

The results are as follows:

In Nain a total of 487 voters cast headed to the polls out of an eligible 865; 57 percent of the eligible voters.

Henry Broomfield received a total of 81 votes while Sarah Leo gathered 170 votes.

Tony Andersen was declared AngajukKak with 233 votes.

506 beneficiaries in Happy Valley-Goose Bay and Mud Lake cast their vote in the election.

That’s 30 percent of the 1683 eligible voters.

Andrea Webb received 23 votes while 153 beneficiaries voted in favor of Alex Saunders.

Jennifer Hefler-Elson was declared Chair of the NunaKatiget Inuit Community Corporation with 330 votes.

In Hopedale a total of 288 people cast their votes for the six candidates in that community. That’s 73 percent of the 395 eligible voters.

Jimmy Tuttauk received 28 votes, Garfield Flowers gathered 45 of the votes, 48 people voted in favor of Gregg Flowers while Sukie Aggek and and Doris Boas both received 36 votes.

Wayne Piercy came out on top gathering 86 of the votes.

Herb Jacque will serve another term as AngajukKak of the Makkovik Inuit Community Government.

He gathered 140 votes to Randy Edmunds 100.

240 people cast their vote in Makkovik out of an eligible 312. That’s 76 percent of the eligible voters.

Ed Tuttauk will also serve another term in North West River.

He was declared Chair of the Sivunivut Inuit Community Corporation with 103 votes.

Fellow candidates Carolyn Michelin and Clara Michelin received 31 and 28 votes respectively.

In Postville a whopping 132 people cast their vote out of an eligible 142.

That’s 93 percent of the eligible voters; only ten eligible voters in Postville never headed to the polls.

Silpa Edmunds received four votes, Karen Gear gathered 38, Keith Decker 43 and Dianne Gear received 46 of the votes.

With a three vote margin between Decker and Karen Gear, a recount has been called for tomorrow.

The recount takes place tomorrow afternoon at the Postville Inuit Community Government’s council chambers.

No comments:

Post a Comment